Databases

A to Z Databases

AtoZdatabases is the premier reference and marketing database marketed to Library, Academic, and Government institutions throughout the U.S. This simple, user-friendly, web-based solution provides details on businesses and households within the U.S.

Job & Career Accelerator

Job & Career Accelerator is the most comprehensive and easy-to-use job search application on the market. It integrates everything a patron needs to conduct a successful job search. Interactive wizards guide patrons through each step of the search process in a personalized manner, from recommending occupations to fetching up-to-the-minute job postings that are based on each user’s career preferences.

NUWAY Legal Documents

NUWAV Legal Documents is the online tool that lets you create professional-quality documents in three simple steps:
1. Search for the document specific to your situation.
2. Answer the questions in the web input form.
3. Review and print your document.

Learning Express Library

LearningExpressLibrary provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing test they must pass. A list of the test covered in Learning Express include ACT, ASVAB, Cosmetology, EMT/Paramedic, Firefighter, Law Enforcement, ESL Skills Improvement, Nurse Aide, GED, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, SAT.

To Register: Scroll down to the lower right hand side of the computer screen and click on the “Register” button. Then fill in the form (your username is your library card number) and create a password you will remember.

 

mango languages

Mango Languages is an online language-learning system that teaches actual conversation skills for over 60 languages from around the world. Each chapter aligns your learning to a set of conversational and grammar goals, with highly relevant culture notes sprinkled into each lesson. Intuitive popups help you tune your pronunciation with precision. Record your speech and compare it directly to audio from a native speaker to hear exactly how to tune in your accent.

Enter your library card number to create an account and track your progress. Don’t forget to check out the mobile apps!

Gale Virtual Reference Library

We have an assortment of how-to books and reference materials available online in Gale Virtual Reference Library. Library visitors may read the materials while in the library using our computers or wifi connection. Addtionally, chapters may be downloaded in pdf format while in the library and read anytime, anywhere.

OCLO First Search

First Search includes many databases in areas such as Arts Humanities, Business & Economics, Education and Social Studies. In the education area, there is access to ERIC (Journal articles and reports in education), Article 1st (Index of articles from nearly 12,500 journal and Net First (OCLC database of Internet resources.) Accessible only from within the library.

Niche Academy offers a courses on a variety of life topics that can be taken at your own pace. This database can provide you a brief introduction to new topics or skills.

Authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. Use your library card number to log in.

The most comprehensive database for consumer-oriented health content, Consumer Health Complete is designed to help users gain an overall understanding of key topics across the health and wellness spectrum — from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Use your library card number to log in.

Consumer Reports (CR) is the world’s largest nonprofit product-testing organization and has been helping subscribers find better, safer products for 80+ years. Consumer Reports accepts no outside advertising and no free test samples, and employs shoppers and experts to buy and test the products reviewed. Use your library card number to log in.

Explora is an interface for schools and public libraries that supports both student research and classroom instruction with reliable content and easy-to-use functionality. Use your library card number to log in.

Discover current and classic fiction and non-fiction titles that are popular with young readers. Contains materials for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children’s “chapter” books and young adult titles. You can also get Common Core Connections by grade/unit, find fiction and non-fiction books that meet common core standard and download quick lists of recommended books by topic. Use your library card number to log in.

NoveList Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world presenting fiction, nonfiction and audiobooks and includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more. Use your library card number to log in.

Tutor.com - YouTube

Tutor.com connects you with a live, online tutor during the hours of 3:00PM and 10:00PM! Just enter your library card number and PIN number for your password.

Live tutoring help is available in both English and Spanish for K-12 students, college students, and continuing adult education. Resume review services are available as well, with most submitted resumes being returned with helpful suggestions and comments within 24 hours.

This is the link to our Chicago Community Newsbank resources. This extensive collection is available in the library and remotely with your library card on an easy-to-use mobile responsive interface. Includes easy citation tools, article sharing and email capability for your convenience.

 

This is the link to our Newsbank Lake County News Sun resources. Explore Lake County history through local news, events, and people with the Lake County News-Sun Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Upcoming Events

  • Jun
    10
    Bingo for Kids!
    10:00 am
  • Jun
    06
    Spring Craft
    01:00 pm
  • Jun
    06
    Painting Session
    10:00 am
  • Jun
    05
    3D Printing
    10:00 am
  • Jun
    04
    Make a Sensory tube!
    01:00 pm
  • Jun
    03
    Gaming Days Grades 6-12
    04:00 pm
View Full Calendar

Accessibility Toolbar